An inconvenient tooth

My writing inspiration, ladies and gentlemen, Mr Ben Trovato!

BEN TROVATO – Durban Poison

There are two things I fear most of all. Three, if you include cockroaches. What the hell, let’s throw in praying mantises and make it four. Heavy lifting rounds it off to five.

But all things considered, visiting the hairdresser and the dentist are my number one and number two fears. They are interchangeable depending on the length of my hair and the state of my mouth.

The other day my hat blew off and, before I could pick it up, someone walking past tossed R5 into it. At first I was outraged, but quickly realised that this was a very acceptable way to make money without having to do anything more than stand on a pavement with a glum expression on my face. I write for a living. My face and glum, they go back.

I felt a bit of a fraud shifting from foot to foot, doing nothing…

View original post 1,223 more words

Leave a Reply

